The Industrial Relations Advisers,

Management & Labour Laws Consultants

 

Room 3, 1st floor, Falaknuma Building, Near The Laboratory & Haroon Radio, Abdullah Haroon Road, Karachi

Phone: 2727266 & 2729770 Fax: 2729770 (S M Iqbal)  Email: iqbalblund@hotmail.com 

 


notification

Festival Holidays for the year 2008 declared u/s 49-1

of the Factories Act, 1934 by the Government of Sindh


 

In exercise of the powers conferred by Sub-Section (1) of Section 49-1 of the Factories Act, 1934, (XXV of 1934), the Government of Sindh are pleased to declare that the following holidays will be observed as Festival Holidays by all the workers during the year 2008: -

 

Name of occasion Days Dates
1. Aashura (9~10 Moharram, 1429) Saturday & Sunday 19th & 20th January, 2008
2. Kashmir Day Tuesday 5th February, 2008

3. Eid-Milad-un-Nabi

     (Peace Be Upon Him)

Friday 21st March, 2008
4. Pakistan Day Sunday 23rd March, 2008
5. Labour Day Thursday 1st May, 2008
6. Independence Day Thursday 14th August, 2008
7. Eid-ul-Fitr (1 Shawwal, 1429) Thursday, Friday & Saturday 2nd to 4th October, 2008
8. Iqbal Day Sunday 9th November, 2008
9. Eid-ul-Azha (10 Zil-Hajj 1429) Wednesday & Thursday 10th & 11th December, 2008
10. Quaid-e-Azam Day/Christmas Thursday 25th December, 2008

 

The following days shall also be observed as Festival Holidays by the workers belonging to the Communities shown below.

 

HINDUS
1. Holi Friday 21st March, 2008
2. Janam Ashtami Sunday 24th August, 2008
3. Durga Puja Tuesday 30th September, 2008
4. Dussehra Thursday 9th October, 2008
5. Devali Tuesday 28th October, 2008

 

BALMIKIES
1. Birthday of Guru Balmik Swamiji Tuesday 14th October, 2008

 

CHRISTIANS
1. Good Friday Friday 21st March, 2008
2. Easter Sunday Sunday 23rd March, 2008
3. Day after Christmas Friday 26th December, 2008

 

PARSIS
1. Parsi New Year Day (Nauroze) Tuesday 19th August, 2008

2. Birthday of

    Khordadsal Lord  Zoaraster

Sunday 24th August, 2008

 

BUDDHIST
1. Buddah Purnima Tuesday 20th May, 2008

 

SIKH
1. Guru Nanak's Birthday Thursday 13th November, 2008

                          

Note:- The Muslim Festival holidays will be subject to the appearance of Moon as per decision of the Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee which be communicated through various information media.

 

The Muslim workers belonging to an establishment, as a body at their option but with seven day notice to the employers, may observe, Festival Holidays on Shab-e-Barat and Shab-e-Miraj in lieu of any of the Festival Holidays listed in para 1 above.

 

There will be no substitution of holidays falling on Sunday.

 

Copyright (c) 2008 - M/s. S.M. Yaqoob